Sadly, according to the Tennessean, a person pulled over currently for drunk driving in the Volunteer State could face more jail time than a drunk driver who kills someone in a fatal accident due to a loophole in state laws.
The news source reported that the state has some of the toughest drunk driving laws in the country, with first-time offenders sentenced to jail for a mandatory 48 hours, or 30 days if a passenger is under 16 in a vehicle.
However, intoxicated drivers who kill drivers on Tennessee roadways may benefit from one of the most lenient punishments in the nation, potentially not serving a single night behind bars, according to the Tennessean.
According to the news source, the state is going against national trends by allowing first time offenders for vehicular homicide with intoxication to seek probation sentences, rather than jail or prison time.
The Tennessean reportedly found three instances in Shelby County were first time offenders in fatal DUI accidents avoided serving time in jail. State judges can reportedly look at factors when deciding the sentence of a fatal crash involving a drunken driver, including any prior offenses.
What Should I Do If I My Loved One Is Injured or Killed in a Nashville Drunk Driving Accident?
According to Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), in 2012, there were 295 fatal vehicle accidents on Tennessee roadways involving drunk drivers. Additionally, there were 5,542 alcohol-related injury crashes and 29,093 DUI arrests.
These numbers are unacceptable. As you are enjoying your holiday today, keep in mind that there are alternatives to drunk driving including using public transportation, calling a taxi or having a designated driver.
If you have been hurt by a drunk driver or sustained a wrongful death in your family, our Nashville vehicle accident lawyer has decades of experience assisting victims. Contact us today, and fight back if a drunk driver has affected your family.
“And he saith unto them, Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.” – Matthew 4:19