What You Need to Know About Tennessee Car Accident Laws

Being involved in a car accident is never easy. At best, you walk away from the accident with minor damages and no injuries. However, even in minor accidents, the legal process is confusing. If you suffer a serious injury, the process becomes even more complicated. As such, it is important to understand Tennessee car accident laws and how they might apply to your case.

An experienced Tennessee car accident lawyer can help you understand how these laws might affect you and the compensation you can receive. Below, our law firm provides information about Tennessee laws as they relate to car accident cases we handle.

Most Common Tennessee Car Accident Laws

According to the Department of Safety & Homeland Security, 175,063 car accidents occurred in the state of Tennessee in 2020. Of those accidents, over 5,700 resulted in serious injuries and fatalities.

If you suffered an injury in a car accident in Tennessee, you need to understand how the laws in the state will affect your case and your ability to collect compensation.

Tennessee Car Accident Statute of Limitations

A statute of limitations is essentially a deadline. In the state of Tennessee, car accident victims have one year from the date of an accident to file a personal injury claim. Car accident victims filing for property damage claims have three years from the date of the accident.

If you miss this deadline, you may not be able to file a future claim. That is why it is so important to contact an attorney quickly after a crash. You might not have as much time to file a personal injury lawsuit or car accident claim as you believe.

Insurance Laws in Tennessee

In the state of Tennessee, all drivers must carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. According to the Tennessee Department of Motor Vehicles, each driver must carry:

  • $15,000 per accident for property damage
  • $25,000 per accident for each injury or death
  • $50,000 per accident for total injuries or deaths

If a driver fails to carry the minimum amount of liability insurance, they can face penalties and fines, as well as the loss of their driver’s license.

Fault Laws in Tennessee

Tennessee is a modified comparative fault state. According to Tennessee car accident laws, each individual is responsible for paying damages based on their percentage of fault. You can collect damages as long as you are less than 50% responsible for the accident. However, the law reduces the amount you receive by your percentage of fault.

For example, suppose you got into a car accident in Nashville. The courts determine that you are 20% to blame for the accident, and they award you $10,000 in damages. In this situation, you would only receive $8,000 of that award (minus the 20% for your liability).

Contact Our Nashville Car Accident Lawyer Today

If you or someone you love suffered a serious injury in a car accident, we can help. Nashville car accident lawyer Stanley A. Davis offers compassionate and skilled legal representation during this difficult time. Contact the Law Office of Stanley A. Davis today by calling (615) 845-6141 or fill out our confidential contact form for more information. We have an office in Brentwood, Tennessee, but we assist all injured clients in Nashville and throughout the state of Tennessee.

Login


© 2022 Law Office of Stanley A. Davis All Right Reserved.