Skip to Content
Obtain the Counsel You Need & Deserve

Driving for Uber or Lyft? Know the Insurance Regulations in Tennessee

Do You Need Legal Advice?

Our firm can answer questions about your rights and the ability to file a personal injury claim during a free consultation. Contact our law firm to discuss your legal options with our Nashville personal injury attorney and his team.



As ride sharing has soared in popularity throughout the United States and world, the top two companies, Uber and Lyft, have faced state and local regulations in an effort to maintain safety for both drivers and passengers. In Tennessee, the legislature has passed additional insurance regulations on the popular ride sharing apps that went into effect January 1 of 2016.


If the driver is on the app but has no customers in the car, the driver is required to carry $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per individual, $100,000 bodily injury per accident and $25,000 per property damage. This coverage does not have to be in place when the driver is not on the app. Drivers must carry proof of this coverage, and drivers cannot do the work off the app or in cash. Drivers must maintain two years of records.

If the driver has a customer in the car, the driver must have auto coverage at a minimum of $1 million for bodily injury, property damage and death.

If the driver does not have the required coverage at the time of an accident, the ride-sharing employer, such as Uber and Lyft, must provide the coverage.


Of course, anyone involved in an accident should seek medical attention. If you do not need to go to the ER immediately after the accident, schedule a doctor’s appointment for a full check-up soon thereafter. Some injuries, such as whiplash, back injuries or brain injuries might take a few days to show symptoms.

If you are the driver for the ride-sharing company, call the police and then report the incident to your employer immediately. Only state the facts of the accident as you know them; do not speculate or guess about facts of which you have no direct knowledge. Report the accident to your insurance carrier. Do not speak with the other driver’s insurance company without first consulting with your own personal injury attorney. An attorney can help you with your options to pursue claims against your own policy, your employer, the other driver and/or a car manufacturer, if the situation warrants.

If you are the passenger in the Uber or Lyft when it’s in an accident, you should stay at the scene if possible to give a statement to the police as a witness (unless you need to leave for medical treatment.) Speak with a personal injury attorney immediately, and before giving any recorded statement to a ride-sharing company or insurance agent.

If you are another driver who is in an accident with an Uber or Lyft, report the accident to your own car insurance company, but only state the basic facts of which you have direct knowledge. Do not put forth any guesses or speculation as to what happened. Speak to a car accident attorney before speaking to Uber, Lyft, or their insurance representatives.

Nashville car accident attorney Stan Davis regularly represents cab drivers, Uber and Lyft drivers as well as passengers in these vehicles after serious car accidents. Do not attempt to deal with large corporations or their insurance carriers alone. Speak to a lawyer immediately after the accident to ensure your rights are protected and you receive the maximum amount of an insurance claim as possible. If a full and fair settlement is not offered, Stan Davis is a trial litigator who can advocate for injured individuals in court.

Share To: